Potential fraud alert!
Question:
I paid for, by wire transfer, against my better judgement, a carbon fiber boot cover and set of carbon fiber engine covers, to this person who advertised in this forum ...



$1200 and over two months later I have not received anything. I have received no response to my emails for the last few weeks. Last I heard from him he was staying with some friends in Switzerland (on my money).

Just an FYI ... in case anyone sees this thread advertising stuff for sale ...

Would a moderator intervention be appropriate?

Dipan Forgot to post the link to the thread in question selling parts ...

Sorry to hear about this. I'd be interested in knowing if anyone else ever received what they purchased. Dipan, I'm not sure what would be appropriate in this case (moderator-wise), so I'll defer to the others on that. It looks like he joined ET specifically to sell those parts; his last post was on 12/31, his last activity here was 1/12 so I don't know that we'll even see him around here anymore. I'll try emailing and PM'ing him to notify him of this thread; if he's an honest person, I think he'll want to respond.

Sorry to hear about this... $1200 and over two months later I have not received anything. I have received no response to my emails for the last few weeks. Last I heard from him he was staying with some friends in Switzerland (on my money).
That sucks dude...doesn't sound good. I actually offered to buy a couple parts, but requested to use Paypal (for buyer protection). But he/she/it said they would only take a wire, and I backed off. That sucks dude...doesn't sound good. I actually offered to buy a couple parts, but requested to use Paypal (for buyer protection). But he/she/it said they would only take a wire, and I backed off.
Well, I guess I learned my lesson. Though, I wish it was only a $50 lesson Actually, one of the reasons I trusted him was he seems to be a car freak (like me, or maybe moreso) based on the website that was in his signature and some of the beautiful photos there ...

http://www.lukeduke.org

Even now I'm thinking that there may be some explanation as to why he hasn't contacted me, but I don't know ... I just don't know. wire transfer is a no no. slap on the nose with a rolled up news paper! Actually, one of the reasons I trusted him was he seems to be a car freak (like me, or maybe moreso) based on the website that was in his signature and some of the beautiful photos there ...

http://www.lukeduke.org

Even now I'm thinking that there may be some explanation as to why he hasn't contacted me, but I don't know ... I just don't know.

not sure if this would help at all, but if that is his website you can contact the maintainers of that IP space.

descr: Technorail srl
descr: Internet Service and Access Provider
person: Stefano Cecconi
address: Aruba S.p.A.
address: Piazza Garibaldi 8
address: 52010 soci (AR)
phone: +39 0575 51571
fax-no: +39 0575 561831
e-mail: hostmaster@technorail.com Hmmmm.... also, if you do a 'whois' on his domain, you get this info :

Registrant Name:Luca Francesco Adami Luca Francesco Adami
Registrant Organization:Luca Francesco Adami
Registrant Street1:via m colonna 41
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:milano
Registrant State/Province:mi
Registrant Postal Code:20100
Registrant Country:IT
Registrant Phone:+39.3482718009
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:+39.0270035348
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:luca.adami@fastwebnet.it

don't know if it's legit, but it's a name/number/email, so maybe that'll help.

i also did a people search on http://www.yahoo.it and looked up "Luca Adami" and he actually does live in Milano. here's his info :

Adami Luca Francesco
20149 Milano (MI) - Via Colonna Marco Antonio, 41

good luck. You might want to try tracking him down via SELOC since he's in Europe. A quick search there showed no users of similar name likely to be him, but since you have enough of his other info, you could try posting to there and see if someone knows him. Something to consider: these parts are coming from Italy. Usually, that's like a 4-week traverse anyway, right? hmm...just did a little more research - i googled his email address from his domain registration and one page popped up - it was an XTR owner's forum and some guy was saying that Luca was one of his friends and he was an italian westfield dealer. so, i googled "italian westfield dealer" and this page popped up :

http://www.westfield-sportscars.co.uk/italy.htm

if you look at the 'contact info' in the middle of the page you can see that one of the contacts is L. Adami. so, it looks like he's a real person in italy. hopefully he's the same person that you sent the money to and it's not just some asshat using his identity online...

now you have his work number, so you can call and hassle him there and find out what's up... How sure are you that that website is truly his? The email address he used when signing up with EliseTalk appears to be in the format of firstname, lastname @domain, and the lastname in that address is not Adami (I'd rather not post it here for privacy reasons, and I imagine dipan has that info already as part of the wire transfer). How sure are you that that website is truly his? The email address he used when signing up with EliseTalk appears to be in the format of firstname, lastname @domain, and the lastname in that address is not Adami (I'd rather not post it here for privacy reasons, and I imagine dipan has that info already as part of the wire transfer).
i'm not sure. that's why i said this in my second post :

hopefully he's the same person that you sent the money to and it's not just some asshat using his identity online...

i'm well aware that anyone could sign up for this forum using a false name and using another person's website in their sig to make themselves look more like that person. i'm just hoping for the original posters' sake that that is not happening right now.

just tryin' to help out... i'm not sure. that's why i said this in my second post
Sorry! Didn't read that closely enough. Wow. Sorry to hear about this. I almost bought the alleged CF seats from him but decided not to do so because there were too many red flags raised. 1) His sob story didn't seem credible 2) I asked if he would use an escrow service for payment and I even offered to pay for both ends yet he declined. 3) Too few post counts. He appeared out of nowhere and begins trying to sell stuff. 4) Asked for pictures but given excuses of not having any.

I regret that I did not post any of my concerns on that thread because I didn't want to attack someone without proof. I do recall sending a PM to Randy asking if he thinks this guy is legit but I never got a response. Not sure he could have done anything to determine that anyway.

Edit:

This was his other email address he used eurotranexpress@virgilio.it Thanks guys for the sympathy and suggestions. I'm not sure what to do next, if anything. I've already notified my bank and they are checking to see what they can do. Maybe they can at least notify the bank in Italy that their customer is possibly not using their services legitimately. I've already dispatched an email to the contact link at lukeduke. I'm not sure I want to do much else. I don't see much in the way of prospects on getting my money back no matter what I do.

Really, I just wanted to put this out there so no one else gets taken advantage of ... Something to consider: these parts are coming from Italy. Usually, that's like a 4-week traverse anyway, right?
Yeah ... I considered that. My bank says the wire transfer went through on Dec 2. That's two months ago. And I have not been getting any responses to email. Just doesn't seem to add up. Plus he said that when he checked with the shipping company that it would take around 5 days to reach me. I guess that it would have been shipped by air rather than sea.
WTT: my shift knob for yours
WTT:toybox wheels for LSS or other forged wheel
xbox 360 core for sale
XIGEMOTORWERKS XM Intake Kit Blowout.
yellow perfed leather door panels for sale
Yet Another Cup Holder - Kaidan Autosport
Yet Another Cup Holder - Kaidan Autosport - Page 2
Yokohama '48's - two rear tires




Copyright © 2006 - 2008 www.TendCar.com
Tend Car Dialogue